Life From a drunkard’s point of view

I was sitting on the bench just outside my apartment when a sudden commotion interrupted the conversation I was having with my neighbor. I turned towards my left to see what all the noise was about. A man,hardly more than 25 years of age, was talking to his mates in a barely audible tone. It was obvious from his demeanor that he was drunk. As I moved a few inches closer to hear what he was saying I realized he was sad and pouring out his sorrows.

Everyone around the street gathered into a huge circle surrounding the man cracking jokes and teasing him. One person even convinced him to take off his pair of shoes and put on worn out slippers that were too large for his feet. A group of teenagers searched his pockets and grabbed his wallet greedily taking all his money.

The guard upon asking told us the man sold shoes a few miles away from here. He has a drinking problem and was recently seen standing over the top floor of the building trying to see how high he could stand. It took three guards to bring him down and take him home.

Any person would have shunned and turned away from the drunkard but a lady nearby got him to sit down on the bench next to where I had sat earlier. He told the lady,”Everyone judges me. Everyone calls me a drunkard, a loser and a trouble maker. Little do they know what I go through each day of my life. Let them step into my shoes for a single day and see how they fare. They will not be able to survive for a single moment.”

His words awakened feelings of sympathy for him. He was just  an individual who had lots of worries regarding his future and family. He had a wife and three kids to provide for. He had a small scale business of selling shoes which did give good returns. He had no friends to pour his heart out to. He had no income to afford a consultation with a doctor who could counsel him. The only means of escape he had was alcohol. Even if for a few hours the drug kept his problems at bay and gave him a false sense of security.

You could call him a coward, a selfish person or a man with vices. But the words he uttered made sense and touched me immensely.

NEVER JUDGE A PERSON BY THEIR APPEARANCE. EVERYONE IS SINGLE HANDEDLY FIGHTING THEIR OWN BATTLES.

DRUGS ONLY GIVE A TEMPORARY STATE OF WELL BEING. ONCE ITS EFFECT HAS WORN OFF YOU END UP FEELING WORSE THAN EVER.

Categories Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close